This guide covers the three places most Spanish-school searches in Guatemala lead to: Antigua, Quetzaltenango (Xela) and San Pedro La Laguna on Lake Atitlán. Every price below was read from the school’s own website, with the date we read it. Schools change their rates, so confirm with the school before you pay a deposit.

I speak Spanish natively – I grew up here – so I have not attended these schools as a student. The prices come from the schools, not from me; the opinions in the tips section are mine.

TL;DR: A 20-hour week of one-on-one classes in Antigua costs US$130-275 on the rates pages of Antigüeña, Ixchel, CSA and Maximo Nivel (read 8 October 2026); Celas Maya in Xela lists US$299. At the Antigua schools we read, homestay is priced separately: US$130-275 a week. Pop Wuj (Xela, US$230 a week) and San Pedro Spanish School (Lake Atitlán, from US$150 a week; read 25 October 2026) sell lessons and homestay as one package.

Antigua vs Xela: what the schools’ pages show

AntiguaQuetzaltenango (Xela)
One-on-one, about 20 hours a week (classes only)US$135-150 Antigüeña · US$175 PLFM (4 h/day mornings) · US$210 Ixchel · US$255 CSA · US$275 Maximo Nivel (private, 4 h/day)US$299 Celas Maya (20 h)
HomestayUS$130-160 Antigüeña · US$140-160 PLFM · US$225 shared bath / US$275 private bath CSA room and board · US$235 Ixchel single room with meals, private bathUS$150 Celas Maya (period not stated)
Lessons + homestay as one package–US$230/week Pop Wuj (plus US$65 registration)
How many schoolsNot countedNot counted

Antigua prices read 8 October 2026; Celas Maya 3 October 2026; Pop Wuj 8 October 2026. Sources per school are in the tables below. See our exchange rates page for today’s USD/GTQ rate.

In my experience the bigger difference is what happens outside class: Antigua is a tourist town where English is easy to fall back on, and Xela is a working city where Spanish is the default.

Antigua Schools

Antigua is a colonial town close to the international airport (see our airport-to-Antigua transfer guide for times and fares). If you are also working remotely, check our best neighborhoods for remote workers to find areas with reliable WiFi near your school. The downside, in my view, is that English is easy to fall back on, which can reduce immersion outside the classroom. For the full school-by-school breakdown in Antigua – hourly rates, 4-week totals and homestay terms – see our Spanish schools in Antigua guide.

Prices on the schools’ own pages (read 8 October 2026)

SchoolOne-on-one weekHomestaySource
PLFMUS$175 part-time mornings (4 h/day); US$225 full-time (7 h/day)US$140 shared bathroom / US$160 private bathroom per week; meals Monday to Saturday except official holidaysspanishschoolplfm.com rates and accommodations pages
CSA (The Spanish Academy)US$255 for 4 h/day, 20 h/weekUS$225 room and board per week with a shared bathroom; US$275 with a private bathroom; private bedroom, meals Monday to Saturdaylearncsa.com programs and rates page
AntigüeñaUS$150 classes only (4 h x 5 days, 8 am-12 pm), or US$135 for 1-5 pm; mornings US$140 if you also take its homestayUS$130 shared bath / US$160 private bath, 7 nights, 3 meals a day except Sundayspanishacademyantiguena.com rates page, read 27 October 2026
IxchelUS$210 for 20 h; US$235 for 25 h; US$16 for a single hourUS$235 single room with meals and private bathroomixchelschool.com prices page
Maximo NivelUS$275 private, 4 h/day (US$995 for 4 weeks); small group of 2-8 people, 4 h/day, US$140Family stay with breakfast and dinner 7 days a week; shared room $165 weekly or $625 for 4 weeks; private room $195 weekly or $740 for 4 weeks (fees page read 8 October 2026)maximonivel.com Guatemala and housing pages

PLFM says it was founded in 1969 and was the first Spanish school in Antigua. Antigüeña sets its prices in US dollars and accepts quetzales at a fixed Q8 per dollar.

Antigüeña also lists these class fees for two students sharing a teacher while taking its homestay (read 27 October 2026). These are weekly prices for both students together; homestay is separate.

Shared-teacher scheduleWeekly class fee for two
4 hours a day, 5 days, 8am to 12pmUS$195
4 hours a day, 5 days, 1pm to 5pmUS$185

For Visa credit-card payments, Antigüeña says to add 17% for credit card tax and bank fees (read 27 October 2026).

Two schools that appeared in older versions of our Antigua coverage, Probigua and Spanish School Cooperación, are not in this table: their websites did not load when we checked on 8 October 2026, so we could not read a current price.

What a typical week looks like

  • Monday-Friday mornings: one-on-one lessons. At Antigüeña, for example, the standard week is 4 hours a day, 8 am to 12 pm.
  • Afternoons: free time or school activities. PLFM also sells a 3-hour afternoon schedule (US$140 a week), and Ixchel lists free weekly activities with its classes.
  • Evenings: dinner with your homestay family, if you choose one – in my view this is where real immersion happens.
  • Sundays: PLFM’s and Antigüeña’s homestays do not include Sunday meals, so budget for eating out.

Explore Sacatepequez on the map.

Quetzaltenango (Xela) Schools

Xela is the choice I would make as a serious student: it is a working Guatemalan city without Antigua’s tourist trade, so more of your day happens in Spanish. Our cost of living in Quetzaltenango guide covers rents and transport there.

Prices on the schools’ own pages

SchoolWhat the page listsSource, read
Celas MayaUS$299 (20 h/week), US$329 (25 h), US$389 (30 h); homestay US$150 (period not stated)celasmaya.edu.gt price packages, 3 October 2026
Pop WujUS$230 per week for its Spanish Immersion Program: homestay (private bedroom, three meals a day), one-on-one lessons, weekly field trips and activities; one-time registration US$65; the price is for cash paid in quetzales, plus US$12 a week by credit cardpop-wuj.org Spanish Immersion Program page, 8 October 2026

This guide lists only the Xela schools whose prices were read on their own sites.

Pop Wuj: study + community projects

Pop Wuj describes itself as an association that runs language and cultural immersion programs as a financial means to provide services to underserved communities around Xela. Its immersion program includes trips to nearby villages to help build efficient cookstoves (the Safe Stove Project) and visits to the school of Chuicaracoj for its Nutrition Project. Volunteering in its free medical clinic is part of a separate, more expensive Medical Spanish Program, according to its FAQ.

Explore Quetzaltenango on the map.

Lake Atitlán: The Relaxed Alternative

San Pedro Spanish School teaches in San Pedro La Laguna.

SchoolPackage (per week)Source, read
San Pedro Spanish SchoolUS$150: 15 h of private lessons + 7 days of homestay · US$360: 20 h + 7 days of homestay, shared bathroom · US$440: 25 h + 7 days of homestay, private bathroomsanpedrospanishschool.com, 25 October 2026

San Pedro Spanish School also lists a general package range from US$135 to US$350 per week, which it says can change according to the student’s requirements (read 27 October 2026).

This guide lists prices only for San Pedro Spanish School.

The trade-off, in my view: you may end up speaking English socially with other travellers. The setting is beautiful but potentially distracting if you are trying to maximize study time.

See our Lake Atitlan Towns guide for choosing the right base.

Guatemala vs Mexico or Colombia

Earlier versions of this page compared weekly prices with Oaxaca and Medellín. Those figures had no source and were removed. For a sourced cost-of-living comparison, see our Guatemala vs Costa Rica and Mexico breakdown.

The accent: a native speaker’s view

In my experience Guatemalans speak at an unhurried pace and pronounce their consonants, which I think makes the accent a comfortable starting point for beginners. That is an opinion, not a measurement.

How Long Should You Study?

PLFM Spanish School publishes its own recommendation (read 8 October 2026):

GoalPLFM’s recommended duration
Beginner level4 weeks
Intermediate level8 weeks
Advanced level13 weeks

PLFM adds that this depends on the student’s interest and the hours dedicated to study. Thirteen weeks exceeds 90 days: Canada’s travel advice says Canadian tourists with regular passports do not need a tourist visa for stays of up to 90 days, but the immigration officer determines the authorized stay at first entry into the CA-4 region; 90 days are not automatically granted. PLFM’s FAQ gives 90 days for US citizens. Our visa and residency guide covers the options for staying longer.

Learn Spanish before (or alongside) school

Arriving with the basics means your first school week goes further. Ways to start from home, described from each company's own site (checked September 24, 2026; Babbel October 14, 2026):

Live tutors: italki
1-on-1 online lessons, no subscription, you choose the schedule. Its "Teachers from" filter set to Guatemala showed 26 Spanish tutors; prices vary by tutor, and each lists a trial-lesson price.
Browse tutors on italki →
App course: Rosetta Stone
Offers Latin American Spanish as its own course (separate from Spain Spanish), with immersive lessons and its TruAccent speech tool, online or in the app. The first lesson is free.
Try Rosetta Stone →
Audio lessons: Pimsleur (US only)
30-minute audio lessons in Latin American Spanish that play offline once downloaded. 7-day free trial for new US customers, then $14.95/month unless you cancel before the trial ends.
Start the Pimsleur trial →
App course: Babbel (US only)
Offers Spanish (Mexico) as its own course, separate from Spanish (Spain), with speech recognition for pronunciation and interactive dialogues. Signing up is free and the first lesson of every course is free; after that it is a subscription.
Try a free Babbel lesson →

Affiliate links: we earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. Prices and offers are set by each company and can change. Disclosure

Tips for Getting the Most Out of Your Experience

  1. Homestay or hostel. A homestay can offer conversations in Spanish with your host family and opportunities to learn about Guatemalan food culture firsthand.

  2. Xela or Antigua. Compare opportunities to practise Spanish outside class.

  3. Teacher changes. If your teacher’s style does not work for you, you can ask the school about switching.

  4. Notebook or laptop. I find handwriting during class helps vocabulary stick; a laptop is another option for homework at night.

  5. Guatemalan TV and local radio. Noti7, Guatevision, and local radio stations are free immersion tools. You will need a decent internet connection and phone plan for streaming and staying connected.

  6. Homework. Class hours alone are not the whole course.

  7. Spanish and volunteering options. Two of the schools we read build it in: Pop Wuj’s immersion program includes its Safe Stove and Nutrition projects, and Maximo Nivel sells Volunteer + Spanish programs (US$1,475 for 2 weeks of Spanish plus 2 weeks of volunteering in Antigua, with host-family stay, on its fees page read 8 October 2026). Before you commit to a long placement, check which migratory status it actually falls under — is it legal to volunteer in Guatemala on a tourist stamp? traces what the Código de Migración and the Reglamento de Residencias do and do not say, and why the student residency category (US$100/year) matters if the combined stay runs past 180 days.

Sources

Each school’s own page, captured on the read date shown in the tables:

October 8, 2026: every price on this page was re-read from the schools’ own websites. The earlier ranges (for example PLFM US$156-195, CSA US$150-182 and Ixchel US$143-182 a week) were out of date and have been replaced. Prices for Sevilla, Cambio Spanish School, ICA, Miguel de Cervantes, Cooperativa and Corazon Maya were removed because we could not read them on the schools’ own sites. A Mexico/Colombia price table, school counts for Antigua and Xela, a 2-3 week conversational estimate and the Xela altitude figure were removed for lack of a source.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much do Spanish lessons cost in Guatemala?

On the schools’ own rates pages, read 8 October 2026, a 20-hour week of one-on-one classes in Antigua costs US$150 at Antigüeña (mornings, classes only; US$135 for its 1-5 pm schedule; read 27 October 2026), US$210 at Ixchel, US$255 at CSA and US$275 at Maximo Nivel (private, 4 hours a day); PLFM charges US$175 for its 4-hour morning schedule. In Xela, Celas Maya lists US$299 for 20 hours a week (read 3 October 2026). At those schools homestay is priced separately: US$130-160 a week at Antigüeña, US$140-160 at PLFM, US$225 room and board at CSA with a shared bathroom (US$275 with a private one). Pop Wuj in Xela (US$230 a week paid in cash in quetzales directly to the school, plus a US$65 registration fee; an additional $12 USD per week for credit-card payment) and San Pedro Spanish School on Lake Atitlán (US$360 for 20 hours plus 7 days of homestay in a private room with a shared bathroom; read 25 October 2026) sell lessons and homestay as one package.

Is Antigua or Quetzaltenango better for learning Spanish?

It depends on what you want outside the classroom. In my experience Antigua has more tourist infrastructure and it is easier to slip into English there, while Xela is a working city where Spanish is the default around you. On the schools’ own pages, the Antigua schools we read charge US$130-275 for a 20-hour one-on-one week, and Celas Maya in Xela lists US$299 for 20 hours.

Do Spanish schools in Guatemala teach one-on-one?

One-on-one lessons are on the rates pages of every Antigua and Xela school we read. Antigüeña says its classes are one-on-one, PLFM says it created the one-on-one program, Ixchel and Pop Wuj sell one-on-one lessons, and Maximo Nivel offers both private classes and small groups of 2-8 people.

How long does it take to learn Spanish in Guatemala?

PLFM Spanish School recommends 4 weeks for a beginner level, 8 weeks for intermediate and 13 weeks for advanced, and says this depends on the student’s interest and the hours dedicated to study. Note that 13 weeks is longer than the 90-day tourist stay.

Can two students share a Spanish teacher at Antigüeña?

Antigüeña lists weekly class fees for two students sharing a teacher while taking its homestay: US$195 for 4 hours a day over 5 days, 8am to 12pm, or US$185 for 1pm to 5pm. Homestay is separate. Visa credit-card payments add 17% for credit card tax and bank fees (read 27 October 2026).