For an Antigua family visit, ChocoMuseo publishes $21.00 each for children under 12 and $30.00 each for adults, checked 25 October 2026; its workshop lasts 2 hours, with chocolate collection an hour later. La Azotea’s guided coffee tour lists Q70.00 per child and Q100.00 per adult on the same check date, with farm admission charged separately. Published child-price bands help with budgeting, but do not establish minimum participation ages.
Quick summary
- Chocolate: ChocoMuseo lists daily workshops at 11am and 3pm, lasting 2 hours, followed by an hour before the chocolates are ready.
- Mountain park: Hobbitenango applies its child tariff to ages 4 to 10, asks visitors to confirm purchase conditions, and describes a half-day or full-day visit.
- Coffee: De La Gente prices its tour for ages 5 and older; La Azotea publishes a child tariff without defining its ages.
- Earth Lodge: children must remain attended. The operator describes a steep dirt-and-stone approach and says it has no playground equipment.
- Pacaya: Adrenalina Tours publishes the trip duration and general price, but does not state a child price or minimum age on the listing checked.
Activity prices, ages and time commitments
Operator pages checked 25 October 2026. Prices below belong to the named operator. Age bands determine the stated price; they are not minimum-age approvals. Where a field says Not published, the operator page checked did not establish it.
| Activity / operator | Child price | Adult price | Minimum age | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChocoMuseo chocolate workshop | $21.00 each, under 12 | $30.00 each | Not published | 2 hours; chocolates ready an hour later | ChocoMuseo |
| Hobbitenango day pass | $6, ages 4 to 10; confirm conditions when buying | $8 | Individual-attraction minimum ages not published | Half day or full day | Hobbitenango |
| De La Gente coffee tour | US$45.00 per person for ages 5 and older; no separate discount stated | US$45.00 per person | No formal minimum stated; price band begins at 5 | Approximately 3 ½ to 4 hours, including transport | De La Gente |
| La Azotea guided coffee tour | Q70.00 plus separate Q10.00 farm admission; child ages not stated | Q100.00 plus separate Q20.00 farm admission | Not published | 1 hour | Tour and admission |
| Adrenalina Tours Pacaya shared tour from Antigua | Not published | US$20 general listed price; entrance fees of US$14 excluded, per operator | Not published | 6 hours | Adrenalina Tours |
Hobbitenango’s prices retain its published $ symbol; the text checked does not explicitly identify the currency. Its optional round-trip transport from its Antigua office is listed separately at +$8 per person, checked 25 October 2026. The page does not establish how children below its child-price band are charged.
Chocolate: allow time for collection
ChocoMuseo’s daily 11am and 3pm starts are the workshop times, not chocolate collection times. Its own explanation separates the 2-hour workshop from the additional hour before the chocolates are ready. The page lists English and Spanish availability and between 1 and 6 participants.
The under-12 price band does not answer whether a very young child can participate. That admission minimum is not stated on the page checked. More activity detail is in our Antigua chocolate workshop guide.
Coffee: compare the full outing with the guided-tour time
De La Gente’s approximately 3 ½ to 4 hours covers the entire coffee experience from pickup to drop-off in Antigua. Its inclusions list round-trip transport to the producer’s home, Spanish-English interpretation, a coffee-field tour with traditional roasting and grinding, and coffee at the producer’s home. It states a minimum of 2 adult participants to run a coffee tour, though a tour can still run for an individual for an additional USD 25 fee; the age-5-and-older price band does not replace that requirement.
La Azotea lists its guided coffee tour at 1 hour. Its separate farm admission means the activity price alone is not the full entry cost. The operator lists farm hours Monday to Sunday, 08:00 a.m. - 06:00 p.m.; guided coffee starts are 10:00 AM / 11:00 AM and 02:00 PM / 03:00 PM / 04:00 PM. Those opening hours and departure times are separate from tour duration. Our Antigua coffee tours guide covers the activity in more detail.
Hobbitenango and Earth Lodge: different kinds of visits
Hobbitenango describes its location as Vuelta Grande, 25 minutes from Antigua Guatemala, and publishes daily opening hours of 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM. Its day-pass page lists fair games, mini-golf, trails, viewpoints and green areas. The half-day or full-day guidance is the operator’s suggested visit length, rather than a fixed tour duration. The Hobbitenango guide has the dedicated park information.
Earth Lodge explicitly welcomes families while asking that children remain attended and that the lodge’s peace and tranquility be maintained. It offers a nature path and green space, but says it has no playground equipment or other entertainment for children. Its restaurant is open to the public without an RSVP and lists hours of 8am – 8pm. These are restaurant hours, not a timed family activity.
The approach matters: Earth Lodge describes a steep 300m hill, with a dirt-and-stone path that visitors walk down and later back up. It warns that the path can become slippery, especially during rainy season, and recommends shoes with grip. It says the property is not wheelchair accessible or conducive to visitors with injuries that inhibit walking. That is an operator access restriction; it does not establish a stroller route. See the Earth Lodge guide for the dedicated visit page.
The Earth Lodge contact page checked does not state day-visit admission, a distinct child charge, a minimum age or a fixed activity duration.
Pacaya: a separate excursion from the Antigua base
Adrenalina Tours lists departures at 06:00 Hrs / 14:00 Hrs and a duration of 6 hours. Its shared-tour price includes a Spanish-speaking guide and return transport from and to Antigua. Entrance fees are excluded: the operator lists US$14, checked 25 October 2026, rather than a separately verified official park tariff.
The listing does not establish a child-specific charge or minimum age. A general tour price cannot settle a child’s eligibility or fee. The Pacaya day hike with kids guide is the related family page; confirm age acceptance and child charges directly with the operator before booking.
Parks, plazas and access questions
The municipal website checked did not establish current Cerro de la Cruz admission or opening hours, or opening hours for Antigua’s parks and plazas. It also did not establish stroller access for sidewalks and crossings. No fixed schedule or stroller-access promise is assigned to those stops here.
For a family plan, the practical distinctions are workshop time versus collection time, tour time versus transport time, and an activity charge versus separate admission. Child-price bands leave a further booking question: whether that specific activity accepts the child’s age. The Guatemala with kids guide places the Antigua visit in the wider trip.
Where to stay in Antigua Guatemala
Compare Booking.com, Airbnb and hotels on one map. Drag the map and set your dates to see live availability and real prices.
Affiliate links — if you book, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
Related
- Guatemala with kids
- Pacaya day hike with kids
- Hobbitenango
- Antigua chocolate workshop
- Antigua coffee tours
- Earth Lodge
Sources
- ChocoMuseo Antigua, checked 25 October 2026.
- De La Gente coffee tour, checked 25 October 2026.
- La Azotea admission and hours, checked 25 October 2026.
- La Azotea activities, checked 25 October 2026.
- Hobbitenango day pass, checked 25 October 2026.
- Hobbitenango home page, checked 25 October 2026.
- Adrenalina Tours Pacaya shared tour, checked 25 October 2026.
- Earth Lodge contact and visitor FAQ, checked 25 October 2026.
- Municipalidad de Antigua Guatemala, checked 25 October 2026; the site does not state park hours or stroller access.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is ChocoMuseo's Antigua chocolate workshop for children?
ChocoMuseo lists $21.00 each for children under 12 and $30.00 each for adults (its price list uses the $ sign without naming the currency), checked 25 October 2026. The workshop lasts 2 hours; chocolates are ready to collect an hour later. Under 12 is the child-price band, not a published minimum admission age.
What ages receive Hobbitenango's child rate?
Hobbitenango’s day-pass page applies its $6 child rate to ages 4 to 10 and lists the adult ticket at $8, checked 25 October 2026. It asks visitors to confirm conditions when buying. The page does not establish individual-attraction minimum ages or a charging policy for younger children. The prices retain the operator’s dollar symbol.
Does La Azotea's coffee tour include farm admission?
No. La Azotea states that admission is paid separately from activities. Checked 25 October 2026, the guided coffee tour is Q70.00 per child and Q100.00 per adult, with separate farm admission of Q10.00 per child and Q20.00 per adult. The tour lasts 1 hour; the pages do not define the child-price ages.
Is Earth Lodge suitable for a family visit?
Earth Lodge welcomes families but requires children to remain attended at all times and asks guests to maintain the lodge’s peace and tranquility. Its contact page describes a nature path and green space, with no playground equipment or other children’s entertainment. Access requires walking down a steep 300m dirt-and-stone path and back up; it can be slippery, especially during rainy season. The operator says it is not wheelchair accessible.
Does the Pacaya shared tour publish a minimum age for children?
Adrenalina Tours’ checked listing does not state a child-specific price or minimum age. On 25 October 2026 it lists a 6-hour shared tour at US$20, with entrance fees of US$14 excluded. Those entrance fees are the operator’s figure. Its inclusion of a Spanish-speaking guide and return transport from Antigua does not establish that the tour accepts a child of any particular age.

