Things to do in Rio Dulce include visiting Castillo San Felipe, taking the boat to Livingston, kayaking and a sunset cruise: INGUAT lists foreigner fort entry at Q75.00 per person, while Boatique lists its sunset cruise at Q500 for 1–5 people, both checked 25 October 2026. Boatique also lists self-guided visits to Finca Paraíso and Canyon de Boquerón, with separate park fees rather than an all-inclusive excursion price. The check date records when these pages were read; the quoted tariffs have no stated validity date.

Quick summary

  • Fort: INGUAT lists Monday to Sunday, 08:00 to 17:00; its foreigner category includes Central Americans.
  • Livingston: Happy Fish Travel and Boatique publish boat options, with different morning departure times. Confirm the schedule for the product purchased.
  • Sunset or castle visit: Boatique’s sunset cruise views the fort from the water; its castle boat tour allows time ashore and excludes park entry.
  • Paddling: Boatique’s kayak fee covers the whole stay. El Hotelito Perdido publishes hourly and whole-day rental columns.
  • Waterfall and canyon: Boatique describes these as self-guided outings by colectivo toward El Estor.
  • Payment: Boatique’s independent tour vendors require cash on completion; hotel-mediated payment has a surcharge.

Activity prices: what each amount buys

Every source below was checked 25 October 2026. Hotel-published attraction fees are attributed to the hotel; they are not presented as the attraction administrator’s tariff. Group charges, entry fees and equipment rentals cover different things.

ActivityPrice and basisSource, checked 25 October 2026
Castillo San Felipe admissionQ75.00 per person for foreigners, including Central Americans; Q25.00 per adult; Q10.00 per minor aged twelve to seventeenINGUAT
Castillo San Felipe boat tourQ750 for up to 8 people; park fee Q75 each excluded; captain waits up to 2 hoursBoatique
Rio Dulce–Livingston transfer/tourQ125.00 per personHappy Fish Travel
Livingston colectivoQ125 one way; Q200 returnBoatique
Sunset cruiseQ500 for 1–5; Q100 per extra personBoatique
Finca Paraíso park entryQ20 per personBoatique
Canyon de Boquerón park entryQ100 per person; canoe inclusion is not explicitBoatique
Kayak rental for the whole stayQ100 two-person; Q75 single; first come, first servedBoatique
Stand-up paddleboardQ50 per board for the duration of the stayBoatique
Kayak rental, listed as KayakQ25 for an hour; Q80 for a whole dayEl Hotelito Perdido
Canoes, kayaks and row boatFree to use (Casa Perico’s page does not give eligibility, duration or deposit terms)Casa Perico activities page

INGUAT’s adult and minor categories do not explicitly state nationality. Its listed categories also do not establish a free-child policy. Casa Perico’s free-watercraft statement does not establish access for non-guests; confirm eligibility before travelling there for equipment.

Visit the fort, or see it from the water

INGUAT’s published opening hours for Castillo San Felipe are Monday to Sunday, 08:00 to 17:00, checked 25 October 2026. Our Castillo de San Felipe guide covers the fort separately.

Boatique’s castle boat tour is described as about 4 hours, leaving at the visitor’s preferred time. Its captain waits while visitors explore, subject to the up to 2 hours waiting limit. The group boat charge and admission are separate, as shown in the price table.

The sunset cruise is a different outing. Boatique lists 3:30 – 5:30 PM, a pass by Bird Island and a view of Castillo San Felipe from the river. The description presents the fort as something to look at from the water. It does not describe going ashore to enter the castle.

Take the boat to Livingston

Happy Fish Travel lists 09:00 and 14:30 for its transfer/tour product, naming Rio Dulce or Livingston as the departure point. Boatique’s page instead says the water taxi leaves the dock around 9:30 AM and returns 2:30 PM. Both were checked 25 October 2026; the difference in morning times remains unresolved.

Confirm the departure dock, direction and return associated with the ticket. Happy Fish’s booking page also displays an additional return-service option; it is not a separate, unambiguous standalone round-trip fare. Boatique explicitly labels its own return amount in the comparison table. For route planning beyond the activity comparison, use the Rio Dulce to Livingston boat guide.

Paddle from a riverside hotel

Boatique says no reservation is needed for its paddling equipment: availability is first come, first served, and the fee covers the whole stay. Its paddleboard charge is likewise stated per board for the duration of the stay. These are stay-based rentals, rather than hourly charges.

El Hotelito Perdido’s price list has separate hourly and whole-day columns. The clear Kayak row appears in the comparison table. Its single-kayak whole-day amount is split across lines on the page, so a reliable day price cannot be quoted here.

Casa Perico says its canoes, kayaks and row boat are free to use for reaching its swimming platform in the river. Its activities page does not state eligibility, duration or deposit conditions. That makes access conditions part of the enquiry, even though the page describes the equipment as free.

Finca Paraíso waterfall and Canyon de Boquerón

Boatique describes Finca Paraíso as a hot waterfall flowing into a cold river pool, and Canyon de Boquerón as a canoe outing between limestone walls. The hotel lists both as open daily 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM, checked 25 October 2026.

Its self-guided directions begin at the colectivo area below the bridge, across from Bruno’s Restaurant, with entrance fees paid at the gate. For the waterfall, it says to take a colectivo toward El Estor; for the canyon, take the same direction and ask for the Boquerón entrance. The listed amounts are park fees, so they do not establish a total outing budget with transport. The canyon description does not explicitly confirm that the canoe is included in its park fee.

Chocón Machacas and practical booking checks

The Centro de Estudios Conservacionistas page for Chocón Machacas lists Monday to Sunday, 7:00 to 16:00, checked 25 October 2026. That page does not state admission, so obtain the fee before making a priced itinerary around the visit.

For tours arranged through Boatique, its page says guides operate independently and vendors require cash on completion. Tour payments are not added to room, accommodation or meal charges. A 30% surcharge applies if payment has to run through the hotel, according to the page checked 25 October 2026. This statement applies to Boatique’s arrangements; it does not establish a payment rule for other hotels or attractions.

When requesting a quote, establish whether it covers the group or each person, admission, canoe use, local transport and the return journey. For reaching Rio Dulce from the capital, see Guatemala City to Rio Dulce.

Where to stay in Rio Dulce

Compare Booking.com, Airbnb and hotels on one map. Drag the map and set your dates to see live availability and real prices.

Affiliate links — if you book, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

What does Castillo de San Felipe cost?

INGUAT lists Q75.00 per person for foreigners, including Central Americans, and Monday to Sunday hours of 08:00 to 17:00, checked 25 October 2026. Boatique separately lists a Q750 boat tour for up to 8 people, with Q75 each for park admission excluded. Its captain waits up to 2 hours.

How much is the boat to Livingston?

Happy Fish Travel lists its Rio Dulce–Livingston transfer/tour product at Q125.00 per person, checked 25 October 2026. Boatique lists the colectivo at Q125 one way or Q200 return on the same check date. Happy Fish lists 09:00 and 14:30; Boatique says around 9:30 AM out and 2:30 PM back. Confirm the departure and return for the ticket you buy.

How much is a sunset cruise?

Boatique lists Q500 for 1–5 people and Q100 per extra person, with a 3:30 – 5:30 PM window, checked 25 October 2026. The route passes Bird Island and Castillo San Felipe from the water; it is not described as a fort-entry visit.

Are kayak prices hourly or for the whole stay?

Boatique lists Q100 for a two-person kayak and Q75 for a single, with the fee covering the whole stay and availability first come, first served. El Hotelito Perdido separately lists its Kayak at Q25 for an hour and Q80 for a whole day. Both pages were checked 25 October 2026. These are different rental periods, not interchangeable quotes.

What do Finca Paraíso and Boquerón cost?

Boatique lists Finca Paraíso park entry at Q20 per person and Canyon de Boquerón at Q100 per person, checked 25 October 2026. It lists both as open daily 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM. The canyon description mentions a canoe but does not explicitly say the park fee includes it.

Do tours require cash?

Boatique says its independent tour vendors require cash on completion and that tours cannot be added to room, accommodation or meal charges. It states a 30% surcharge if payment has to run through the hotel. This is Boatique’s policy statement, checked 25 October 2026.