In short: Five providers sell a Guatemala eSIM you can buy before you fly, and they are not selling the same product. Airalo and Holafly both sell unlimited data on Tigo, and between those two it is a price question: from 3 to 15 days they sit within $0.50 of each other, and only 30 days decides anything ($99.00 on Airalo against $111.90 on Holafly). But neither is the cheapest unlimited plan here — GigSky lists below Airalo at all six durations, from $12.49 at 3 days to $74.99 at 30 days, and it is the only one of the five that says what “unlimited” means: high speed up to 3.5 GB per day, hotspot included. If your trip is light, Saily’s $5.99 for 1 GB over 7 days costs less than half GigSky’s cheapest list price ($12.49). Yesim is the outlier worth knowing about: it runs on Claro, not Tigo. On Airalo, cost per day falls from about $6.50 at 3 days to $3.30 at 30 days (Holafly: $6.63 to $3.73). Prices read from each provider’s own Guatemala page on 4 September 2026. Staying longer than a couple of weeks? Price a local prepaid pack first — the quetzal numbers are on a different scale entirely.

Airalo vs Holafly: every duration, price, and cost per day

These are the two names most travellers arrive already comparing, so start there — GigSky and Saily are further down, and one of them is cheaper than both of these. Airalo and Holafly each publish six durations for Guatemala, and each sells every one of them as unlimited data. That makes them unusually easy to compare: same product shape, same network, same six windows. The per-day column is the one that actually changes decisions, and neither provider prints it.

ValidityAiraloAiralo per dayHolaflyHolafly per dayCheaper
3 days$19.50$6.50$19.90$6.63Airalo, by $0.40
5 days$31.00$6.20$30.90$6.18Holafly, by $0.10
7 days$39.00$5.57$39.50$5.64Airalo, by $0.50
10 days$46.50$4.65$46.90$4.69Airalo, by $0.40
15 days$63.00$4.20$63.50$4.23Airalo, by $0.50
30 days$99.00$3.30$111.90$3.73Airalo, by $12.90

Prices read from each provider’s own Guatemala page on 4 September 2026 — airalo.com/guatemala-esim and esim.holafly.com/esim-guatemala. All plans on both lists are sold as unlimited data. The per-day columns are ours: price divided by the number of days, rounded to the cent. Providers reprice without notice, so treat the date on this table as the shelf life of these numbers.

ProviderNetwork as the page states itDurationsBest per-day rateWhere
AiraloTigo, plus one other network the page does not name3 to 30 days, unlimited$3.30 (30 days, lowest of the six plans read)Airalo Guatemala eSIM
HolaflyTigo Guatemala / Telecomunicaciones de Guatemala3 to 30 days, unlimited$3.73 (30 days)Holafly Guatemala eSIM

Affiliate link — if you buy, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

One caveat on Airalo’s cheapest price. Two of our older pages recorded Airalo’s Guatemala page header as reading from $5.00 USD when they checked it on 1 September 2026; the six plans we could read on 4 September are all unlimited-data, starting at $19.50. A cheaper capped-data tier may exist that did not render for us — check the app before treating the 3-day plan as the floor.

GigSky and Saily: the cheaper unlimited, and the cheap small plan

Airalo and Holafly are the two names the search results push at you. They are not the whole market, and on price they are not the front of it.

GigSky — below Airalo at every duration, and it publishes the fine print

GigSky’s Guatemala page sells unlimited plans across the same six windows Airalo and Holafly use, and lists every one of them lower.

ValidityGigSky listGigSky at the 20% promoAiralo, same windowHolafly, same window
3 days$12.49$9.99$19.50$19.90
5 days$20.99$16.79$31.00$30.90
7 days$27.99$22.39$39.00$39.50
10 days$36.99$29.59$46.50$46.90
15 days$51.49$41.19$63.00$63.50
30 days$74.99$59.99$99.00$111.90

GigSky prices read from gigsky.com/country/esim-in-guatemala on 4 September 2026 — the list price, and the price shown under a 20% site-wide promotion running that day. Use the list column to make the decision. A promotion is not a shelf price, and by the time you read this the promo column may simply be gone; the list column is the one that has to win the comparison on its own.

Three things GigSky publishes that Airalo and Holafly do not:

  • A fair-use threshold, in writing: high speed up to 3.5 GB per day, resetting every 24 hours. That is the number “unlimited” hides. It is generous for maps, messaging and normal phone use, and it is a real ceiling if you were planning to back up a camera roll.
  • A hotspot policy: “Unlimited use included.” If tethering a laptop is why you are buying data, this is the only unlimited plan on this page that says yes in writing.
  • A free 100 MB trial, which is enough to prove the profile installs and attaches to a network before you spend anything.

What it does not publish is the carrier. Our read of GigSky’s Guatemala page recorded no named network, so do not assume it lands on the same Tigo footprint as Airalo and Holafly. GigSky’s Guatemala eSIM page is a plain link — GigSky is not one of our affiliate partners, and we earn nothing if you buy from it.

Saily and Yesim — the capped plans, for people who do not need unlimited

Unlimited is the wrong product for a lot of trips. A week of maps, WhatsApp and the occasional Uber is not 3.5 GB a day, and paying $19.50 for unlimited when 1 GB would do is the easiest money to waste on this page. Two providers sell the small plan instead:

ProviderDataValidityPrice
Saily1 GB7 days$5.99
Saily3 GB30 days$16.99
Saily5 GB30 days$24.99
Yesim1 GB30 days$8.88
Yesim3 GB30 days$22.80
Yesim5 GB30 days$34.80
Yesim10 GB30 days$48.00

Read from saily.com/esim-guatemala and yesim.app/country/guatemala on 4 September 2026. Saily link is an affiliate link — if you buy, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The Yesim link is not.

Saily sells capped plans only — 1 GB to 5 GB, no unlimited tier at all — and states “No hotspot restrictions or limitations”. It does not name the carrier it uses. At $5.99, its 1 GB week is the cheapest eSIM on this page.

Yesim is the one that changes the coverage answer. Its Guatemala page names Claro, where Airalo and Holafly point at Tigo. That is the reason to consider it: if you are going somewhere a Guatemalan has told you Tigo is weak, this is how you buy the other network before you land. Its plans are data-only, and it says hotspot support “depends on operator”. Yesim does sell unlimited plans too, but they are priced far above the rest of this page — $70.80 for 7 days against Airalo’s $39.00 — so we have not put them in the unlimited table.

Which one, and which duration

Pick the product before you pick the brand. If a few gigabytes covers your trip, buy a capped plan and stop reading — Saily’s $5.99 for 1 GB over 7 days, or $16.99 for 3 GB over 30 days. If you want unlimited and the lowest published price, start with GigSky’s list column. If you specifically want Claro rather than Tigo coverage, that is Yesim. The Airalo-versus-Holafly comparison below is the right one only once you have decided you want unlimited data on Tigo from one of the two best-known brands.

Under 30 days, Airalo against Holafly barely exists as a choice. Forty cents at 3 days. Ten cents at 5 days, and in Holafly’s favour. Fifty cents at 7 and at 15 days. Nobody should spend twenty minutes reading eSIM reviews to capture a rounding error — at those durations, buy whichever one you can install fastest and stop thinking about it. If a tiebreaker helps: Holafly’s page states 4G and 5G coverage where available and includes an “Always On” benefit of 1 GB of monthly backup data at no extra cost; Airalo’s page shows a second network beyond Tigo, although it never says which one.

At 30 days, Airalo beats Holafly — and GigSky lists below both. Between the two big names this is the only row where the difference is real money: $99.00 against $111.90. That is $12.90, or 13% of the cheaper price, for two products sold as unlimited data on the same primary network; whether they differ in throttling or tethering is not published by either. Nothing on either page justifies the premium at that tier — no extra data (both are unlimited), no different network, no published service difference. If you are buying a month from one of those two, buy the cheaper month. But widen the comparison and the 30-day decision moves again: GigSky lists the same 30-day unlimited window at $74.99, below Airalo’s $99.00, and publishes the daily high-speed ceiling (3.5 GB) that both of the others leave blank. A month is where the gap is largest, so it is the duration where checking the third name is most worth the two minutes.

Now pick the duration, because that is where the real money is. The per-day cost is not close to flat. Airalo drops from $6.50 a day at 3 days to $4.20 at 15 days and $3.30 at 30 days — the 30-day plan costs about half as much per day as the 3-day one. The practical consequence: short top-up thinking is expensive. Two 5-day Airalo plans cost $62.00 and cover 10 days; the 10-day plan covers the same trip for $46.50. Three 10-day plans cost $139.50; the 30-day plan costs $99.00. Round up to the next duration whenever your trip lands near a boundary, because on this price curve the longer plan is frequently cheaper in absolute terms, not just per day.

One caution on the per-day column. It measures price against validity, not against usage. A 30-day plan that you use for eleven days is not a $3.30-a-day plan; it is a $9.00-a-day plan. The per-day figures only reward you if you actually stay for the window you bought.

Fair use and hotspot: who publishes what

“Unlimited” is only as good as the threshold behind it, and the four providers are not equally forthcoming. This is what each Guatemala page stated when we read it on 4 September 2026:

ProviderFair-use / throttle thresholdHotspot or tethering
AiraloNot publishedNot published
HolaflyNot publishedNone recorded in our capture
GigSkyHigh speed up to 3.5 GB per day, resets every 24 hours“Unlimited use included”
SailyNot applicable — plans are capped at 1-5 GB“No hotspot restrictions or limitations”
YesimNot applicable on its fixed 30-day plans“Depends on operator”

Airalo and Holafly are the two that leave the term blank, and they are also the two selling the word “unlimited” hardest. That is a real gap, not an omission on our side: unlimited is stated, the limit behind it is not. If you plan to work off a laptop through the phone, buy from a provider that answers the tethering question in writing — GigSky says yes and Saily says yes — rather than confirming it with support after you have paid.

Two more things about Airalo specifically:

  • Airalo does not name its second network. The page shows Tigo “+1 other”. Which one is not stated, so treat the coverage you are buying as Tigo coverage.
  • Airalo’s page does not state calls, SMS, or 5G in what we captured, so do not assume a voice line or a Guatemalan +502 number from what we captured. If you need a local number, Tigo and Claro sell their own carrier eSIM with one — see our SIM cards guide.

eSIM, or a local prepaid SIM?

This is the decision that actually changes what you spend, and it turns on trip length rather than brand. There is a third option to price first if you are flying from the US: keeping the plan you already have — see will my US phone work in Guatemala? for what T-Mobile, Verizon, AT&T and Google Fi each charge.

A local prepaid pack is priced in quetzales and sold with a fixed data allowance. Our Tigo vs Claro plans page reads both carriers’ published tariff pages directly: on Tigo, prepaid runs Q10 for 1 GB over one day, Q35 for 5 GB over 7 days, Q65 for 8 GB over 15 days, and Q120 for 15 GB over 30 days ~$16 USD , with Claro at Q10 for 1.5 GB, Q35 for 7 GB and Q120 for 17 GB at comparable windows (Claro’s 15-day pack is Q65 for 10 GB) — read from tigo.com.gt/prepago and Claro’s own comparador and verified 2026-09-01. The eSIM prices above are in dollars; convert at the day’s rate before you compare. And note what is being compared: the local packs are capped in gigabytes, and so are Saily’s and Yesim’s plans, so those are like-for-like against Tigo and Claro prepaid. The Airalo, Holafly and GigSky plans are the uncapped ones — with GigSky the only one of the three that publishes a daily high-speed ceiling.

Buy the eSIM if: your trip is short, you want data working before you clear immigration, you would rather not queue at a carrier kiosk, or your data use is heavy and unpredictable enough that an uncapped allowance is worth a premium.

Buy a local SIM if: you are staying more than a couple of weeks, you need a +502 number for WhatsApp and apps, your usage is moderate, or you are coming back and want a line you can top up at any corner shop for years.

Or do both, which is what most people who stay a while end up doing: an eSIM for the landing day and the first few days, then a physical Tigo or Claro chip once you are settled. The eSIM covers the exact window where you have no number, no data, and the most need for a map.

The practical part

You need an unlocked, eSIM-capable phone. That is the standard requirement every provider on this page sells against: a handset that accepts a digital profile and is not locked to a carrier back home. Check your exact model against the provider’s compatibility list before paying — model names in the same family often differ on eSIM support by region and by year.

Install before you land. Buying an eSIM requires internet, and installing the profile requires internet. If you wait until you are standing in the arrivals hall at La Aurora with no signal, you are dependent on airport WiFi to activate the thing you bought to avoid depending on airport WiFi. Purchase and install at home, and confirm at checkout when the validity window starts — install-early behaviour differs by provider — because the clock on a 3-day plan is unforgiving.

Then think about the road, not the phone. Data works at the airport; the harder question is how you get out of it. If Antigua is the destination, our breakdown of Guatemala City airport to Antigua covers the shuttle, taxi and private options with times, and how to get to Antigua covers the wider routes in. For anywhere else in the country, start with airport transfers.

If you are working, not visiting, mobile data is a bridge and not a plan. Coverage and real-world speeds by region are in our internet speed guide — worth reading before you commit to a month in a town you have never worked from.

More practical planning for a Guatemala trip lives in our guides library.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Guatemala eSIM cost in 2026?

Read on 4 September 2026 from each provider’s own Guatemala page: Airalo lists 3 days at $19.50, 5 days at $31.00, 7 days at $39.00, 10 days at $46.50, 15 days at $63.00 and 30 days at $99.00. Holafly lists 3 days at $19.90, 5 days at $30.90, 7 days at $39.50, 10 days at $46.90, 15 days at $63.50 and 30 days at $111.90. GigSky lists the same six windows lower: 3 days at $12.49, 5 days at $20.99, 7 days at $27.99, 10 days at $36.99, 15 days at $51.49 and 30 days at $74.99, with a 20 percent site-wide promotion running that day. Every plan on those three lists is sold as unlimited data. Saily sells capped plans instead, from $5.99 for 1 GB over 7 days.

Is Airalo or Holafly cheaper for Guatemala?

Airalo is cheaper at five of the six durations, but the margins are tiny: $0.40 at 3 days, $0.50 at 7 days, $0.40 at 10 days and $0.50 at 15 days. At 5 days Holafly is actually the cheaper of the two, by $0.10 ($30.90 against $31.00). The only gap big enough to decide anything is 30 days, where Airalo’s $99.00 undercuts Holafly’s $111.90 by $12.90. Neither of them is the cheapest unlimited plan on the market, though: GigSky’s list price sits below Airalo at all six durations, $74.99 against $99.00 at 30 days. Prices retrieved 4 September 2026.

Which network does a Guatemala eSIM run on?

It depends on the provider. Holafly’s Guatemala page names Tigo Guatemala / Telecomunicaciones de Guatemala. Airalo’s Guatemala page shows Tigo plus one other network that it does not name. Yesim’s Guatemala page names Claro instead. Saily’s page does not name a carrier, and our read of GigSky’s Guatemala page recorded no named carrier either. So between Airalo and Holafly the coverage is essentially Tigo either way and network is not a reason to pick one over the other, while Yesim is the one deliberate way to buy Claro coverage instead.

Do these unlimited Guatemala eSIMs have a fair-use cap?

GigSky publishes one: high speed up to 3.5 GB per day, resetting every 24 hours, and it states that hotspot use is included with no limit. Airalo and Holafly publish neither a fair-use throttling threshold nor a hotspot policy on their Guatemala pages, as we read them on 4 September 2026 - unlimited is stated, the limit behind it is not. Saily sidesteps the question by selling capped plans of 1 to 5 GB and states ‘No hotspot restrictions or limitations’. Yesim’s page says hotspot support depends on the operator. If tethering a laptop is the point of the purchase, buy from a provider that answers that in writing rather than confirming it after you pay.

Is an eSIM cheaper than a local SIM card in Guatemala?

No, not on price. A local Tigo prepaid pack costs Q10 for 1 GB over one day, Q35 for 5 GB over 7 days, Q65 for 8 GB over 15 days and Q120 for 15 GB over 30 days, read from tigo.com.gt/prepago and verified 2026-09-01 on our Tigo vs Claro plans page. A 30-day unlimited eSIM is $74.99 on GigSky’s list price, $99.00 on Airalo or $111.90 on Holafly. The eSIM buys convenience, an unlimited allowance and working data the moment you land; the local SIM buys a lower price and a Guatemalan +502 number.

What do I need to use an eSIM in Guatemala?

An unlocked, eSIM-capable phone, which is the standard requirement every provider on this page sells against, plus an internet connection at the moment you install the profile. Install and activate before you fly, or as soon as you have a connection after landing, because the QR code and the provider app both need data to work. Check your exact handset model against the provider’s compatibility list rather than assuming.