← Part of the Moving from USA hub

In short: Guatemala has 27 entities under “Compañías de seguros” on the Superintendencia de Bancos’ July 2026 list, from Seguros G&T and El Roble to MAPFRE, Pan-American Life and Bupa Guatemala. Of the insurers we read, only Seguros G&T publishes a health price: VivaSalud from Q190 a month (individual, ages 18-69, hospitalisation capped at Q40,000 a year). Other products set rules that matter to foreigners: PHI requires that you live permanently in Guatemala and spend no more than 3 months a year in the US or Canada. IGSS is compulsory if you have a Guatemalan employer, but its voluntary contribution includes no medical care. Medicare usually doesn’t pay abroad, and Part B still costs $202.90 a month in 2026 (or more, depending on income). SafetyWing’s FAQ says Essential destinations cannot include your home country, and that Complete covers you in your country of residence.

This page is for people who live in Guatemala, or are about to. If you’re visiting for a few weeks, the question is travel insurance, and it’s covered in travel and nomad insurance for Guatemala. If you’re applying for residency and want to know whether IGM demands a policy, see health insurance for Guatemala residency. For hospitals, the public MSPAS network and what care costs, start at the healthcare guide.

The decision table

Your situationWhat existsThe rule that decides it
Employed by a Guatemalan companyIGSS, through your employerDecreto 295 Art. 27: every inhabitant who takes part in producing goods or services must contribute
Retired, or paid from abroad, living here full timeLocal private plan (G&T, Universales, the products sold through Confiansa, and others) or an international planThe product’s own requisitos: residence, age at entry, and time spent in the US
Spending several months a year in the USAn international plan that covers the US, or Medicare while you’re therePHI excludes people who spend more than 3 months a year in the US, Puerto Rico, the USVI or Canada
Worked formally in Guatemala for 12+ months, then left the jobIGSS voluntary contribution keeps your pension file goingIGSS: 12 obligatory contributions in the last 36 months; no medical care
US veteran with a service-connected conditionVA Foreign Medical ProgramService-connected conditions, plus the narrow cases the VA lists
On MedicareMedicare works in the US; abroad only in narrow casesmedicare.gov’s travel rules (below)

Step one: check the insurer is licensed

Insurance in Guatemala is supervised by the Superintendencia de Bancos (SIB). Its list of supervised institutions links a monthly PDF. The latest one linked on 23 September 2026 is July 2026. Its section Compañías de seguros numbers 27 entities. At least four of them carry Fianzas or Afianzadora in their names, meaning surety bonds, not health cover.

The names you’re most likely to be quoted by for health cover all appear on it:

Company, as named on the SIB listHealth products we read on its own site (23 Sep 2026)
Seguros G&T, S. A.VivaSalud, VivaMed, Safemed (see below)
Seguros El Roble, S. A.Not read for this page
Seguros Universales, S. A.MEDIC, Universales Health Plus (UH+)
Aseguradora Rural, S. A.Seguro de Gastos Médicos Individual (no details published)
MAPFRE | Seguros Guatemala, S. A.Not read for this page
Pan-American Life Insurance de Guatemala, Compañía de Seguros, S. A.Not read for this page
BMI Compañía de Seguros de Guatemala, S. A.Not read for this page
Bupa Guatemala, Compañía de Seguros, S. A.Not read for this page
ASSA Compañía de Seguros, S. A. · Seguros Agromercantil, S. A. · Aseguradora General, S. A.Not read for this page

If a policy is sold to you in Guatemala by a company that is not on the list, ask the seller which licensed insurer underwrites it. An agency is not an insurer. Confiansa, for example, describes itself as Banco Industrial’s insurance agency (Agencia de Seguros de Banco Industrial), and its product pages don’t name an insurer from the SIB list as underwriter.

Local plans: what insurers publish

Guatemalan health policies are sold as seguro de gastos médicos. Here’s what each insurer’s own page said on 23 September 2026. These are the published terms, not quotes for your age or health.

Seguros G&T: the only published prices we found

VivaSalud is G&T’s entry plan. The page lists 15 consultations and/or urgent-care visits at CIAM, 3 ambulance services a year, hospitalisation up to Q40,000 a year, and ages 18 to 69, with the note Aplican restricciones (restrictions apply). Monthly prices, labelled desde (“from”):

VivaSalud optionMonthly, as listedApprox. USD*
Individualfrom Q190~$25
Dúofrom Q380~$50
Familiarfrom Q675~$89
Adultofrom Q915~$120

*At the SIB reference rate of Q7.6256 per dollar for 21 September 2026. G&T’s page doesn’t define “Adulto” beyond the label, so ask what it covers.

G&T’s bigger plans have no published price. VivaMed comes in Plan A (Q6,500,000, annual renewable, worldwide cover), Plan B (Q5,500,000 lifetime maximum) and Plan C (Q3,500,000 lifetime maximum), with an Aetna worldwide network among its listed differentiators. Safemed is a dollar policy (en dólares), with a deductible you choose from $1,000 to $10,000 and sums of $3,000,000 (Plan A) or $2,000,000 (Plan B), annual renewable.

Products sold through Confiansa (Banco Industrial’s agency)

Three products, no prices. The requirements are where they differ, and for a foreigner they’re the part to read:

RoblemedSalud 360Premium Health Insurance (PHI)
Where it coversGuatemala, Central America and worldwide, by plan; some plans exclude Belize and PanamaGuatemala onlyInternational: more than 5,000 US hospitals and 3,000 hospitals in 200 countries, by plan
Age to joinPolicyholder and spouse 18-69 (cover to 99)Policyholder 18-49 (cover to 99)Policyholder and spouse 18-74
ResidenceMust live in GuatemalaNot stated; asks for a DPI copy and a utility billMust live permanently in Guatemala
Time in the USNot statedNot statedNo more than 3 months a year working or living in the US, Puerto Rico, the USVI or Canada
IDDPI copyDPI copyDPI or passport, plus proof of legal residency where applicable
Waiting periodsNot stated12 months for maternity and pre-existing conditions4 months pre-existing, 10 months maternity, 12 months check-up, 24 months congenital
Other published termsFirst hospitalisation for an acute condition covered at 100% in year one (new policies)Pays 80% of emergency and hospital costs; up to 12 consultations a year; no medical exam to joinDeductibles $1,000-$20,000; ground and air ambulance up to $50,000

The PHI US-stay clause is quoted exactly because it catches snowbirds: “No trabajar ni residir más de 3 meses al año en EE. UU., Puerto Rico, Islas Vírgenes o Canadá”. If you spend more than three months a year in the States, that product, as published, isn’t built for you.

Seguros Universales: MEDIC

Universales doesn’t publish a price for MEDIC. Two lines on its page matter for older applicants: Elegibilidad hasta los 65 años (you can join up to 65) and Seguro sin terminación de edad (the policy doesn’t end at a set age). Its UH+ plans list worldwide cover with coordination of benefits abroad, and a Q5,000,000 lifetime maximum (Plan 1) or annual renewable maximum (Plan 2).

IGSS: when it applies to a foreigner, and when it doesn’t

IGSS is Guatemala’s social security institute. It is not the health ministry’s public hospital network. That network, MSPAS, is explained in the healthcare guide. IGSS covers people through work.

If you have a Guatemalan employer, you’re in. Article 27 of the IGSS law (Decreto 295) says “Todos los habitantes de Guatemala que sean parte activa del proceso de producción de artículos o servicios, están obligados a contribuir al sostenimiento del régimen de Seguridad Social”. The obligation attaches to inhabitants, with no nationality condition. The Código de Migración (Art. 24) separately gives migrant workers and their beneficiary relatives the right to IGSS services, provided they are registered and pay contributions.

If you’re retired or paid from abroad, IGSS’s voluntary route is not health cover. The voluntary route IGSS publishes is Contribución Voluntaria (Acuerdo 1124 of its board). Its March 2026 FAQ sets two limits that rule out most expats:

  1. Who can join: only affiliates who have stopped being obligatory contributors and have “12 contribuciones efectivamente pagadas al programa IVS, dentro de los últimos 36 meses calendario”. In practice that means at least a year of formal employment in Guatemala within the last three years.
  2. What it pays for: asked whether a voluntary contributor has the right to medical care at IGSS, IGSS answers that “los beneficios no contemplan la cobertura de servicios médicos”. It contributes to the pension programme (IVS: disability, old age and survivors) only.

The contribution is 5.5% of your last full obligatory salary (3.67% employer share plus 1.83% worker share), paid monthly. You lose the right to it after three consecutive unpaid months.

We found no IGSS text that offers medical coverage to a foreign resident who has never worked for a Guatemalan employer. Treat any quote of a monthly IGSS fee “for retirees” with suspicion and ask for the IGSS resolution behind it.

International plans, including SafetyWing

For an international plan, what you’re buying is set by the policy wording, so the useful question is how the plan treats the country you live in.

SafetyWing is one example, and its FAQ answers that question directly. SafetyWing’s Nomad Insurance comes in two plans. The quoted wording and the prices below are SafetyWing’s own (page, FAQ and price calculator, read on 23 September 2026); the note that Guatemala is not on its list is our reading of that list:

EssentialComplete
SafetyWing’s description“Travel medical insurance”“Full health insurance with extra travel protections”
Your country of residenceDestinations cannot include “your home country (where you principally reside and receive mail)”“You are covered in your country of residence and anywhere you travel, with the exception of any country or area that is sanctioned”
Age to sign up14 days to 69 years18 to 64
Residents it cannot covern/aA named list including the USA and its territories and Canada; Guatemala is not on that list
Commitment“You can cancel your Essential plan subscription any time for any reason”“Complete plans are a 12-month commitment”
Price, ages 18-39US$62.72 per 4 weeksUS$177.50 per month
Price, ages 50-59US$161.28 per 4 weeksUS$380.50 per month
Price, ages 60-69 (Essential) / 60-64 (Complete)US$218.96 per 4 weeksUS$681.50 per month

SafetyWing also states that Essential “does not cover pre-existing conditions, maternity care or cancer treatment”. Read the plan wording against your own situation. We don’t advise on which plan to choose.

The SafetyWing link above is a referral link: we may earn a commission if you buy. See our disclosure.

Medicare and VA: what the US programmes say about living abroad

Medicare. Medicare’s own page on travel says “Medicare usually doesn’t cover health care while you’re traveling outside the U.S. but there are some exceptions”. The exceptions it lists are an emergency in the US when a foreign hospital is closer, travel through Canada between Alaska and another state, living in the US near a closer foreign hospital, and cruise ships in or within 6 hours of a US port. None of them describes living in Guatemala. The same page says “Medicare drug plans don’t cover prescription drugs you buy outside the U.S.”, and that Medigap policies may cover emergency care when you travel outside the US.

Part B keeps billing while you’re away. Medicare’s cost page lists the 2026 Part B premium at $202.90 a month (or higher depending on your income), which, it says, you pay each month even if you get no Part B-covered services. It also says a late-enrolment penalty lasts for as long as you have Part B. Whether to keep Part B is a personal decision. The mechanics are in our healthcare transition guide.

VA Foreign Medical Program. The VA says “If you’re a Veteran who gets medical care outside the U.S. for a service-connected condition, we may cover the cost of your care”, and “You can choose any licensed healthcare provider in the foreign country where you live or travel”. You’re already eligible if you need care abroad for a VA-rated, service-connected disability. Beyond that, the VA lists only narrow cases: conditions it determines aggravate a service-connected disability, and care within its VR&E programme.

What to ask before you sign

  1. Is the insurer on the SIB list? If you’re buying through an agency or broker, ask who underwrites the policy.
  2. What does the requisitos line say about residence and nationality? Do you need a DPI, or will a passport plus residency proof do?
  3. How many months a year can I spend outside Guatemala, and in the US specifically?
  4. What are the waiting periods for pre-existing conditions and maternity?
  5. Is the sum insured annual renewable or a lifetime maximum? G&T’s VivaMed plans use both.
  6. Is there a maximum age to join, and does cover end at an age? Universales: join up to 65, no end age.
  7. Does it pay the hospital directly, or do you pay and claim?

Sources

All read 23 September 2026.

Spanish quotations are reproduced as published by the insurers and institutions named.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a foreigner buy local health insurance in Guatemala?

Yes, if you live here, and each product sets its own rules. Roblemed, sold through Banco Industrial’s agency Confiansa, lists residing in Guatemala and ages 18 to 69 for the policyholder. Premium Health Insurance (PHI) asks for a DPI or passport plus proof of legal residency where applicable, and requires that you reside permanently in Guatemala and do not work or live more than three months a year in the US, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands or Canada. Read the requisitos line before you ask for a quote.

How much does local health insurance cost in Guatemala?

Only one insurer we read on 23 September 2026 publishes a price. Seguros G&T lists its entry plan, VivaSalud, from Q190 a month for an individual, Q380 for two people, Q675 for a family and Q915 for its Adulto option, for ages 18 to 69, with hospitalisation capped at Q40,000 a year. The products sold through Banco Industrial’s agency Confiansa, Universales’ MEDIC and G&T’s larger VivaMed and Safemed plans publish no price. You need a quote for those.

Can I join IGSS as a foreign resident?

If you work for a Guatemalan employer, IGSS is not optional: the IGSS law obliges every inhabitant who takes an active part in producing goods or services to contribute, with no nationality condition. If you are retired or work for a foreign company, IGSS’s own published route is voluntary contribution, and IGSS says it requires 12 paid obligatory contributions in the last 36 months and does not include medical care. It pays into the pension programme only.

Does Medicare cover me if I live in Guatemala?

In almost all cases, no. Medicare’s own site says it usually doesn’t cover health care outside the U.S., and that Medicare drug plans don’t cover prescription drugs you buy outside the U.S. The exceptions it lists involve emergencies near the border or cruise ships near a US port. The 2026 Part B premium is $202.90 a month (or higher depending on income), whether or not you use it.

Can US veterans use VA benefits in Guatemala?

For service-connected conditions, possibly. The VA’s Foreign Medical Program says it may cover care outside the U.S. for a service-connected condition, and that you can choose any licensed healthcare provider in the foreign country where you live or travel. It is not general health insurance for other conditions.

Does SafetyWing cover people who live in Guatemala?

It depends on the plan, in SafetyWing’s own words. Its Essential plan is described as travel medical insurance, and its FAQ says Essential destinations cannot include your home country, where you principally reside and receive mail. Its Complete plan is described as full health insurance with extra travel protections, and its FAQ says you are covered in your country of residence and anywhere you travel. Complete sign-up is limited to ages 18 to 64.